The state-wide texting while driving ban will go into effect on Wednesday.
As of December 1, it will be illegal in Wisconsin to text and drive. A driver caught texting could pay up to $400 in fines and get four demerit points on their license. “This is a traffic regulation, much like speeding,” said Sergeant Nate Clarke of the Wisconsin State Patrol. The law only applies if a driver is sending a text message. Drivers are still allowed to read text messages while driving, as well as text at stop lights.
The Milwaukee County Sheriff’s Office has threatened that deputies may confiscate drivers’ cell phones. This practice will be unique to Milwaukee however, the State Patrol has not implemented such a punishment. “We certainly don’t need to seize that type of evidence,” Clark said.
The State Patrol has issued a 30 day grace period for the new law, meaning that troopers will only issue written warnings to offending drivers for the first 30 days.
If you have been injured in a Milwaukee car accident, you may be entitled to compensation. To speak with a Milwaukee personal injury lawyer, please contact Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, by calling (414) 271-0900.